Adapted Physical Education Teacher of the Year Award

The Adapted Physical Education Teacher of the Year Award provides a means through which INSHAPE recognizes excellence in teaching physical activity to individuals with disabilities.


Any adapted physical education teacher who meets the eligibility requirements and exemplifies the criteria below may be nominated for this award.

  1. Current membership in INSHAPE.
  2. Minimum of five years of teaching experience.
  3. Degree and certification in teaching.
  4. Full time teaching at time of application submission and selection.
  5. Minimum of 50% of total job responsibilities is teaching adapted physical education.
  6. NOTE: A college/university adapted specialist may qualify for the state award providing there are no nominees who meet the eligibility requirements.

Award Criteria:

The applicant must be a teacher who:

  1. Conducts an appropriate physical education program as reflected in the students' individualized education programs and generally accepted standards of practice for physical education;
  2. Utilizes various teaching methodologies and plans innovative learning experiences to meet the needs of all students;
  3. Serves as a positive role model epitomizing personal health and fitness, enjoyment of activity, and sensitivity to the physical and emotional needs of all students;
  4. Participates in professional development opportunities;
  5. Provides service to the profession through advocacy, consultation, in-service training presentations and/or active membership in related professional organizations.

Complete online application by April 1, 2018     Apply

Application requires one (1) letter of recommendation from applicant's principal or colleague. The letter should be directly related to the award criteria.

Selection and Recognition Process:

  1. The Awards Committee will select one award recipient from the pool of qualified applicants.
  2. Applicants will be notified by June 1.
  3. The award will be presented at the State Conference in November.
  4. Award recipient is expected to present a session at the State Conference the following year.

Previous Award Recipents

Year Name
2017Todd Krebs
2016Amy Oliver
2015Mark Markle

For more information, contact:

Lisa Ford
Franklin Central High School