Elementary Teacher of the Year Award

The Teacher of the Year Award provides a means through which INSHAPE recognizes the work of an outstanding elementary physical education teacher. An elementary physical education teacher is defined for the purpose of this award as an individual whose primary responsibility (50% or more) is teaching physical education in kindergarten through sixth grades for a specific school corporation.


Any elementary physical education teacher who meets the eligibility requirements and exemplifies the criteria below may be nominated for this award.

  1. Current membership in INSHAPE.
  2. Minimum of five years of teaching experience.
  3. Degree and certification in teaching.
  4. Full time teaching at time of application submission and selection.
  5. Minimum of 50% of total job responsibilities is teaching physical education at the elementary level.

Award Criteria:

The applicant must be a teacher who:

  1. Conducts an appropriate physical education program as reflected in the students' individualized education programs and generally accepted standards of practice for physical education;
  2. Utilizes various teaching methodologies and plans innovative learning experiences to meet the needs of all students;
  3. Serves as a positive role model epitomizing personal health and fitness, enjoyment of activity, and sensitivity to the physical and emotional needs of all students;
  4. Participates in professional development opportunities;
  5. Provides service to the profession through advocacy, consultation, in-service training presentations and/or active membership in related professional organizations.

Complete online application by April 1, 2018     Apply

Application requires one (1) letter of recommendation from applicant's principal or colleague. The letter should be directly related to the award criteria.

Selection and Recognition Process:

  1. The Awards Committee will select one award recipient from the pool of qualified applicants.
  2. Applicants will be notified by June 1.
  3. The award will be presented at the State Conference in November.
  4. Award recipient is expected to present a session at the State Conference the following year.

Previous Award Recipents

Year Name
2017Andrea Bornino
2016Zach Kelley
2015Kristi Serra
2014Kyle Yoder
2013Steven Zinselmeier
2011Regina Nowak
2010JoEllen Earhart
2009Kim Ward
2008Elise Studer-Smith
2007Pamela Hasting
2006Roberta Sipe
2005Steve Govorko
2004Cindy Huffman
2003Catherine Caldwell
2002Joni Ann Lawler
2000Bill Bishop
1999Steve Gorvorko
1998Dale Berry
1996Jan Miller
1994Sally Rickets
1993Delane Diller
1992Della Hall
1991Noel Bewley
1990Mary Weitzel
1989Sylvia Fleck
1987Harry Mosher
1986Delores Wilson

For more information, contact:

Lisa Ford
Franklin Central High School