Health Education Teacher of the Year

The Teacher of the Year Award provides a means through which INSHAPE recognizes the work of an outstanding health education teacher. A health education teacher is defined for the purpose of this award as an individual whose primary responsibility (50% or more) is teaching health education (K-12) for a specific school corporation.


Any health education teacher who meets the eligibility requirements and exemplifies the criteria below may be nominated for this award.

  1. Current membership in INSHAPE.
  2. Minimum of five years of teaching experience.
  3. Degree and certification in teaching.
  4. Full time teaching at time of application submission and selection.
  5. Minimum of 50% of total job responsibilities is teaching health education at K-12 level.

Award Criteria:

The applicant must be a teacher who:

  1. Leadership in developing and implementing or directing/coordinating effective health education/promotion programs.
  2. Volunteer service to local, state, district or national level organizations or at the school or community levels.
  3. Service to local, state or national professional associations/organizations.
  4. Evidence of meritorious professional activity in at least three (3) of the following: innovative teaching, publications, presentations, funded research or programs, special projects, or other health related activities

Complete online application by April 1, 2018     Apply

Application requires one (1) letter of recommendation from applicant's principal or colleague. The letter should be directly related to the award criteria.

Selection and Recognition Process:

  1. The Awards Committee will select one award recipient from the pool of qualified applicants.
  2. Applicants will be notified by June 1.
  3. The award will be presented at the State Conference in November.
  4. Award recipient is expected to present a session at the State Conference the following year.

Previous Award Recipents

Year Name
2017Cassie Brooks
2016Maria Hallman
2015Jenny Berju
2013Heidi Dawn Stan
2012Renee Frimming
2010Gary DeHaven
2008Barbi Kern
2006Katherine Nalley Schembrais
2005Kathy Newman-Smith
2004Melissa Culver-Pekney
2003Bobbi Lautzenheiser
2001Karen Hatch
2000Wilma Willard
1996Cathy Huntsinger

For more information, contact:

Lisa Ford
Franklin Central High School