Honor Award

The Honor Award provides the means through which INSHAPE recognizes an individual who is clearly outstanding in his/her profession with long and distinguished service to health, physical education, recreation, dance (HPERD), and/or allied areas.


Any INSHAPE professional who meets the eligibility requirements and exemplifies the criteria below may be nominated for this award.

  1. Current member in INSHAPE.
  2. Preparation in one or more areas of professional concern of the Association,
  3. Minimum of ten years professional experience in HPERD and/or allied areas, and
  4. Be at least 35 years of age (as of October 15 of the year of nomination submission).

Award Criteria:

The applicant must be an individual who:

  1. Serves professionally in school, community, and/or college/university programs to inspire others to live vigorously and courageously,
  2. Displays personal integrity and exemplifies the spirit of devoted service to the profession,
  3. By his/her leadership and industry, made an outstanding and meritorious contribution to the advancement of health, physical education, recreation, dance, and/or allied areas, and
  4. Demonstrates successful professional contributions in teaching, scholarship, and service. Must satisfy five or more of the following conditions:
    a. Teaching (also includes Coaching, Performing, Supervising, and Directing)
    i. Demonstrates outstanding teaching or coaching performance and/or administrative leadership ability,
    ii. Meritorious contributions to HPERD through success in the medium of performing arts,
    iii. Exceptional achievement in HPERD through program supervision or direction in school corporations, communities, departments, or agencies, and/or
    iv. Contribution to the profession that has affected its philosophy or practices, not included in the above.
    b. Scholarship
    i. Significant number of presentations before educational groups, at assemblies, workshops, and/or conferences, and other such meetings held in the interest and promotion of health, physical education, recreation, dance, and allied areas,
    ii. Author of articles accepted and published by the INSHAPE Journal or other professional publications,
    iii. Author or co - author of one or more books on health, physical education, recreation, and/or dance, and/or
    iv. Engaged in systematic research or scholarly activity that has helped advance the profession.
    c. Service
    i. Exhibited a devotion to the advancement of HPERD as exemplified by his/her leadership in INSHAPE,
    ii. Distinctive leadership as a member of the Board of Directors of the Association,
    iii. Chair of a committee of the Association, and/or
    iv. Outstanding service with the Association or with an organization promoting the same general objectives as the Association over a period of years.

Complete online application by April 1, 2018     Apply

Application requires one (1) letter of recommendation from applicant's principal or colleague. The letter should be directly related to the award criteria.

Selection and Recognition Process:

  1. The Awards Committee will select one award recipient from the pool of qualified applicants.
  2. Applicants will be notified by June 1.
  3. The award will be presented at the State Conference in November.
  4. Award recipient is expected to present a session at the State Conference the following year.

Previous Award Recipents

Year Name
2017Kim Hurley
2016LeAnn Haggard
2015Carole DeHaven
2014David Anspaugh
2013Elise Studer Smith
2012Dale Berry
2011Cathy Huntsinger
2010Kim Duchane
2009Jane Davis-Brezette
2008Susan Flynn
2007Suzanne Crouch
2006Eugenia (Genie) Scott
2005Marilyn Buck
2004Lane Groombridge
2003Karen Hatch
2002Pat Zezula
2001Katie Stanton
2000Ed Schilling
1999Ronald Davis
1998Willie Grissom
1996Nikki Assmann
1995David Gallahue
1994Dolores Wilson
1993Don Mosher
1992Becky Hull
1991Ruth Lester
1990S. Sue Barrett
1989Tom Sawyer
1988Joann Price
1987Nick Kellum
1986Nancy Linson
1985Paul Surburg
1984Adelaide Cole
1983Charles Baler
1982John Sefferin
1981Catherine Nordholm
1980Barbara Passmore
1979Florida Lowry
1978Tony Berto
1977Norma Jean Johnson
1976Louise Pound
1975Donald Shondell
1974Richard Spear
1973Helen Scheibner
1972Hugh Vickers
1971Catherine Weber
1970Paul Wolf
1969George Stroia
1968Walter Marks
1967Sally Dill
1966Russell Keller
1965George Oberle
1964Jane Garber
1963Donas Dischinger
1962Harry Grabner
1961Reynold Carlson
1960Anthony Annarino
George Schlafer
John Magnobosco
W. W. Patty
Karl Bookwalter
Robert Yoho
Forest Wood
Ruth Carroll
Paul Williams
Clara Hester
Reuben Behlmer
Clarence Biedenweg
John Brogeneaux
Richard Tiernan
Doris Julian
Florence Curtis
Grace Woody
Mildred Lemen
Mark Wakefield
Grace Fielder Holbrook
Ruth Luther
Cloyd Julian
Hester Beth Bland
Charles Cowell
Homer Allen
Catherine Wolf
Edna Moore
Fred Martin
Malcolm McClelland
Lola Lohse
Emma Jane Gardner
Janet Maclean
Cliff Barnes
Eleanor Forsythe St. John
Welman France
Robert McCall
John Reno
Raymond Struck
Hilda Schwehn
Arthur Daniels
Richard Brainerd
Ramona Holsinger
John Endwright

For more information, contact:

Lisa Ford
Franklin Central High School