Legacy Award

The Legacy Award provides the means through which INSHAPE recognizes an individual in the health, physical education, recreation, dance, sport, and/or allied professions who have given long and distinguished service. The award in not intended to overshadow the Honor Award, but recognize those persons who have left a legacy, a benchmark, or a standard in professional service, scholarship, and leadership.


Any INSHAPE professional who meets the eligibility requirements and exemplifies the criteria below may be nominated for this award.

  1. Current member in INSHAPE at the point of retirement.
  2. Given at least 25 years of service to the Association,
  3. Serves or has served in a health, physical education, recreation, dance, sport, or allied career,
  4. Made a distinguished contribution to the Association (Program Director, Committee, Conference, Programs), and
  5. Awarded near the end of a career or in retirement.

Award Criteria:

The nominee must be an individual who:

  1. Has made important contributions to health, physical education, recreation, dance, sport, and/or allied professions, and
  2. Continues to contribute to the profession in significant ways over the course of his/her entire career.

Nominations from the individual's sponsor (primary nominator) must be submitted by April 1, 2017     Nominate

Nominator provides a biographical sketch outlining the contributions of the nominee and how those contributions are deserving of recognition.

Selection and Recognition Process:

  1. The Awards Committee will select one award recipient from the pool of qualified applicants.
  2. Applicants will be notified by June 1.
  3. The award will be presented at the State Conference in November.

Previous Award Recipents

Year Name
2017Becky Hull
2016Jennifer Jones
2015Jane Davis-Brezette
2014Tom Sawyer
2013Bobbi Lautzenheiser
2012Karen Hatch and Cathy Huntsinger
2011Mary Jo McClelland and Jan Miller
2010Paul Nicholas Kellum
2009Lana Groombridge
2008Pat Zezula
2007Barbara Greenburg
2006Vernon Houchins
2004Sally Dill
2004Sue Barrett
2004Nikki Assmann
2003Adelaide Cole
2003Nancy Linson
2002Harry Moser
2002Joanne Price
2001Romona Holsinger
2001Mildred Lemen
2001John Reno
2000Anthony Annarino
1999Dolores Wilson

For more information, contact:

Lisa Ford
Franklin Central High School