Middle School Physical Education Teacher of the Year

The Teacher of the Year Award provides a means through which Indiana AHPERD recognizes the work of an outstanding middle school physical education teacher. A middle school physical education teacher is defined for the purpose of this award as an individual whose primary responsibility (50% or more) is teaching students physical education in sixth through eighth grades for a specific school corporation. In the case a school corporation refers to the school by another name (i.e., junior high) or has different grade levels, the teacher is still eligible for this award.


Any middle school physical education teacher who meets the eligibility requirements and exemplifies the criteria below may be nominated for this award.

  1. Current membership in Indiana AHPERD.
  2. Minimum of five years of teaching experience.
  3. Degree and certification in teaching.
  4. Full time teaching at time of application submission and selection.
  5. Minimum of 50% of total job responsibilities is teaching physical education at the middle school level.

Award Criteria:

The applicant must be a teacher who:

  1. Conducts an appropriate physical education program as reflected in the students' individualized education programs and generally accepted standards of practice for physical education;
  2. Utilizes various teaching methodologies and plans innovative learning experiences to meet the needs of all students;
  3. Serves as a positive role model epitomizing personal health and fitness, enjoyment of activity, and sensitivity to the physical and emotional needs of all students;
  4. Participates in professional development opportunities;
  5. Provides service to the profession through advocacy, consultation, in-service training presentations and/or active membership in related professional organizations.

Complete online application by April 1, 2018     Apply

Application requires one (1) letter of recommendation from applicant's principal or colleague. The letter should be directly related to the award criteria.

Selection and Recognition Process:

  1. The Awards Committee will select one award recipient from the pool of qualified applicants.
  2. Applicants will be notified by June 1.
  3. The award will be presented at the State Conference in November.
  4. Award recipient is expected to present a session at the State Conference the following year.

Previous Award Recipents

Year Name
2017Jill Berry
2016Megan Mathew
2015Donna Hazelett
2014Heidi Dawn Stan
2013Beth Kriech
2012Andrea McMurtry
2011Danielle Ward
2010Alicia Breedlove
2009Tammy Brant
2008Audra Offutt
2007Missy Harvey
2006Tom Stubbeman
2005Monica Malloy
2004Audrey Satterblom
2003Raoul Donati
2001Deby Chaney
1996Charlene Watson
1995Karen Hatch
1994Bobbi Lautzenheiser
1993Sherry White

For more information, contact:

Lisa Ford
Franklin Central High School