Secondary School Physical Education Teacher of the Year

The Teacher of the Year Award provides a means through which INSHAPE recognizes the work of an outstanding secondary physical education teacher. A secondary physical education teacher is defined for the purpose of this award as an individual whose primary responsibility (50% or more) is teaching physical education in ninth through twelfth grades for a specific school corporation.


Any high school physical education teacher who meets the eligibility requirements and exemplifies the criteria below may be nominated for this award.

  1. Current membership in INSHAPE.
  2. Minimum of five years of teaching experience.
  3. Degree and certification in teaching.
  4. Full time teaching at time of application submission and selection.
  5. Minimum of 50% of total job responsibilities is teaching physical education at the high school level.

Award Criteria:

The applicant must be a teacher who:

  1. Conducts an appropriate physical education program as reflected in the students' individualized education programs and generally accepted standards of practice for physical education;
  2. Utilizes various teaching methodologies and plans innovative learning experiences to meet the needs of all students;
  3. Serves as a positive role model epitomizing personal health and fitness, enjoyment of activity, and sensitivity to the physical and emotional needs of all students;
  4. Participates in professional development opportunities;
  5. Provides service to the profession through advocacy, consultation, in-service training presentations and/or active membership in related professional organizations.

Complete online application by April 1, 2018     Apply

Application requires one (1) letter of recommendation from applicant's principal or colleague. The letter should be directly related to the award criteria.

Selection and Recognition Process:

  1. The Awards Committee will select one award recipient from the pool of qualified applicants.
  2. Applicants will be notified by June 1.
  3. The award will be presented at the State Conference in November.
  4. Award recipient is expected to present a session at the State Conference the following year.

Previous Award Recipents

Year Name
2017Kalie McKinley
2016Katy McClure
2015Adam Havice
2013Kathy Newman Smith
2012Gretchen Shafer
2011LeAnn Haggard
2008Deborah Riga
2007Tod Held
2006Lisa Miniear
2005Keith Buetow
2004Marlowe Mullen
2003Ellen Mitchell
2001Mary Jo McClelland
1994Deb Frey
1993Cathy Huntsinger
1992Patricia Howard
1991Peg Kiser
1990Lee Ann Reed
1989Jan Mock
1987Darrell Taulmen
1986Roberta Litherland
1985Nancy Gerrard-Norris
1984Gene Nesbitt
1983Bernice Adkins

For more information, contact: