Special Contribution Award

The Special Contribution Award provides the means through which INSHAPE recognizes an individual who is outside of health, physical education, recreation, dance, and sport but who, through his/her work, has contributed significantly to the general purposes of the Association.


Any individual who meets the eligibility requirements and exemplifies the criteria below may be nominated for this award. Examples include, but are not limited to: Community Leaders, Media Leaders, Medical Personnel, Military Personnel, School Administrators, and Special Agency Personnel.

  1. Not be a member of INSHAPE, and
  2. Be at least 40 years of age (as of October 15 of the year of nomination submission).

Award Criteria:

The nominee must be an individual who has made important contributions to health education, physical education, recreation, dance, and/or sport from the vantage point of his/her profession (i.e., general education, government, medicine, public health, etc.).

Nominations from the individual's sponsor (primary nominator) must be submitted by April 1, 2018     Nominate

Nominator provides a biographical sketch outlining the contributions of the nominee and how those contributions are deserving of recognition.

Selection and Recognition Process:

  1. The Awards Committee will select one award recipient from the pool of qualified applicants.
  2. Applicants will be notified by June 1.
  3. The award will be presented at the State Conference in November.

Previous Award Recipents

Year Name
2017Mike Prior
2016Molly Powell
2011Bonnie Hopper
2010C'Motion and Jason Meier
2008Michael Furnish
2007Wilma Willard
2006Jason Meier
2005Charlie Brown
2004Lynn Gosser
2003Suellen Reed
2003Bob Rider
2002Cheryl Carlson
2001Russ Mendelville
2000Mary Pat Leonard
1993Kelly Nebel
1990Sandra Fenstermaker
1989Cathy Cooper
1988Phyllis Lewis
1987Arden Cristen
1983Merrill Ritter
1982Governor Otis R. Bowen
1981George and Mildred Dikan
1980Senator Richard Lugar
1980W. David Kenney
1978Isaac Beckes
1977Patricia Roy
1976Jeff Marvin
1975Philip Eskew
1974Donald Odle
1973Malcolm McClelland
1972Hilliard Gates
1971Josie Briscoe
1970Richard Tim Phillips
1969Jean Lee Marvin
1968Newell C. Kephart
1967Robert Barnet
1966Elizabeth Noland Jackson

For more information, contact:

Lisa Ford
Franklin Central High School