Outstanding Student Award

The Outstanding Student Award provides the means through which INSHAPE recognizes an undergraduate student who has displayed distinctive leadership and meritorious service to his/her profession of health, physical education, recreation, dance, and/or allied areas.


Any undergraduate student studying health, physical education, recreation, dance (HPERD), and/or allied areas that meets the eligibility requirements and exemplifies the criteria bel ow may be nominated for this award.

  1. Current student member of INSHAPE,
  2. Attending a college or university in the state at the time of nomination, and
  3. Declaring an undergraduate major in an academic department offering professional preparation curriculum in HPERD and/or allied area content.

Award Criteria:

The applicant must be an individual who:

  1. Serves as a positive role model epitomizing personal health and enjoyment of physical activity ,
  2. Displays distinctive leadership to the profession (i.e., college or university student organization, Association activities),
  3. Exhibits meritorious service to the profession (i.e., community, college or university, Association), and
  4. Participates in professional development opportunities (i.e., attends and/or presents at meetings, workshops, conferences, etc.).

Complete online application by April 1, 2018     Apply

Application requires one (1) letter of recommendation from applicant's faculty. The letter should be directly related to the award criteria.

Selection and Recognition Process:

  1. The Awards Committee will select one award recipient from the pool of qualified applicants.
  2. Applicants will be notified by June 1.
  3. The award will be presented at the State Conference in November.
  4. Award recipient is expected to present a session at the State Conference the following year.

Previous Award Recipents

Year Name
2017Jared Bourff
2016Svea Nelson
2015Mikayla Munn
2014Grant Newlin
2013Brian Kautz
2012Austin Barcome
2011Erica Moreland
2010Jordan Knox
2009Kali Carlisle
2008Chelsea Bower
2007Melanie DeGrandchamp
2006Nikki Sieracki
2005Casey Schneider
2004Brooke Sutton
2003Brooke Sutton
2002Misty Minniear
2001Korinth Patterson
2000Jacqueline Shepler
1999Melanie Whiteman
1995Jennifer Renee Murrell
1993Jennifer Jo Lochner
1992Will Ragle
1991Lisa Lock
1990Todd Jones
1989Candy Kelley
1987Susan Nye
1986Sally Mueller
1985Ann Marie Wilson
1984Shari Bibler

For more information, contact:

Lisa Ford
Franklin Central High School