Jean Lee/Jeff Marvin Collegiate Scholarship

Six $1,000 scholarships awarded annually


Each year, INSHAPE awards up to six (6) $1,000 academic scholarships to undergraduate students enrolled full-time in an Indiana college/university. (Full time is as defined by the college/university).

The scholarship will be allocated for the purpose of tuition and books for the 2018 - 2019 school year.

Applicants must be majoring in health, physical education, recreation, dance, or exercise science.

Award Criteria:

The scholarship award is based upon:

  1. participation in collegiate activities,
  2. professional competencies,
  3. potential as a professional,
  4. grade point average,
  5. financial need, and
  6. recommendations.

Complete online application by January 15, 2018     Scholarship application

Your application requires a letter of recommendations from a faculty member who is a current Indiana AHPERD member. Letters of recommendation need to be submitted online by the recommender.

Incomplete, late, or mailed applications will not be considered.

Selection and Recognition Process:

  1. The Awards Committee will select up to six scholarship recipients.
  2. Applicants will be notified by April 1, 2018.
  3. Scholarship monies are sent to the recipient's school before the fall 2017 semester.
  4. Scholarship recipients will be recognized at the State Conference (November 2017).

2017 Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations! (press release)

Kennan Barnett

Physical/Health Education
Indiana Wesleyan University

Hunter Gaerte

Physical Education; Health Promotion
Manchester University

Paige Keller

Physical Education
Manchester University

Mark Osmialowski

Physical/Health Education
Manchester University

Ali Sparkman

Exercise Science; Health Education

Sang Uk

Physical Education
University of Indianapolis

Recent Scholarship Recipents

Year Name College / University
2016Adriana BrownManchester University
2016Jared BourffManchester University
2016Brittany Duncan University of Southern Indiana
2016Thomas Kendall University of Indianapolis
2016Amy Lingenfelter Purdue University
2016Cody McCulloch University of Indianapolis
2015Lydia DavisIndiana Wesleyan University
2015Whitney Maas Indiana State University
2015Mikayla Munn Manchester University
2015Svea Nelson Purdue University

For more information, contact:

Gary Lemke
Connected Educator, Interactive PE
14059 Old Mill Circle
Carmel, IN 46032
+1 317.523.6940