Recognizing Excellence in Teaching

INSHAPE announces the 2020 state Teacher of the Year award winners, individuals who are among the elite of the school health education, physical education, adapted physical education, dance and recreation professions.
The Teacher of the Year Award enables INSHAPE to recognize the work of outstanding educators. State Teachers of the Year are selected among nominees after rigorous evaluation by the Association selection committee.
The awards are given in recognition of outstanding teaching performance and the ability to motivate today's youth to participate in a lifetime of physical activity. The 2020 INSHAPE Teachers of the Year are:
Elementary Physical Education Teacher of the Year
Molly Crawn, Lost Creek Elementary School (Terre Haute)
Health Educator of the Year
Wendy Mirwaldt, South Side High School (Ft. Wayne)
High School Physical Education Teacher of the Year
Beth Kriech, Shortridge High School (Indianapolis)
Recreation/Leisure Educator of the Year
Sheli Plummer, Ball State University (Muncie)
Dance Educator of the Year
Lauren Ryan, IUPUI (Indianapolis)

"Our 2020 Indiana Teachers of the Year are indeed a special class of educators. They inspire their students as they make a difference in the daily lives of their students. These educators continue to model best practice, are leaders in their school corporations and are amazing advocates for the health of our Indiana youth. Their enthusiasm and energy motivate each of us to strive for quality wellness programs that will impact our Indiana schools and Hoosier communities," noted Carole DeHaven, INSHAPE president.
INSHAPE Teachers of the Year now compete for the SHAPE America Midwest District Teacher of the Year. Midwest District Teachers of the Year become candidates for the 2021 SHAPE America National Teachers of the Year.
The state award recipients will be recognized on November 2, 2020 during the organization's virtual Hall of Fame Awards Celebration. The INSHAPE teachers of the year celebration is presented by U.S. Games, a division of BSN Sports of Dallas, TX.
Meet the Teachers of the Year: press release.
E X P L O R E   A M E R I C A

Every Kid Outdoors

Hey fourth graders! See America’s natural wonders and historic sites for free. You and your family get free access to hundreds of parks, lands, and waters for an entire year.

Get your free annual family pass

E X P L O R E   I N D I A N A _____________________________________

Project Aware Goes to the Park

Prioritize your mental health with short, fun activities at your local Indiana State Park, and enter for a chance to win a 2021 Indiana State Park Pass!

Download the free activity guide

N O M I N A T E   A   M O Y _____________________________________

Majors of the Year

The Catherine Wolfe Major of the Year award celebrates outstanding undergraduate students. Faculty are encouraged to nominate one outstanding student per major per college/university.

Nominate a MOY by October 1, 2020

The health. moves. minds.® program brings the lessons, activities, and community-building ideas that can help kids live their best lives. Inspire healthy habits, fuel active minds, and teach kids to thrive physically and emotionally with this new service-learning program.
A D V O C A C Y   M A T T E R S

Is Your School INSHAPE?

Foster health and physical literacy in your community by registering your school as an INSHAPE School for the 2020-2021 school year. Great member benefits. Great banner.

Details and registration

It's membership renewal season - Renew your
INSHAPE membership for the 2020-2021 school year


The five S's of sports training are: stamina, speed, strength, skill, and spirit; but the greatest of these is spirit.     ~ Ken Doherty

INSHAPE is the voice for 5,000+ health and physical education professionals across Indiana. Members receive access to professional development, educational resources, events, discounts, and more.
Contact Us           About Us
Copyright © 2020 Indiana SHAPE, All rights reserved.